Jon Corzine on Drugs

Democratic Jr Senator (NJ)

Maintain Byrne/JAG anti-drug funds at $520M instead of $170M

The nation’s governors urge you to support state & local crime fighting programs by restoring essential funding for Edward Byrne Justice Assistance Grants (Byrne/JAG) for 2008. The Senate had funded the Byrne/JAG program at $660 million and the House at $600 million. However, in the final Consolidated Appropriations Act, an inadequate $170 million was appropriated for 2008, slashing Byrne/JAG funding by 67% from the 2007 level of $520 million. At a minimum, we strongly encourage Congress to restore program funding to the 2007 level of $520 million for 2008 and to maintain or increase this funding level in 2009.

The Byrne/JAG program provides the only source of support for local, state, and regional, drug enforcement. Many states use Byrne/JAG funds to support multi-jurisdictional drug task forces, which foster institutional collaboration in the fight against illegal drug traffickers. Unless reversed, the severe cuts to 2008 funding will cause an elimination of many crime fighting task forces.

Source: Letter from two governors to House Leadership , Mar 14, 2008

Increase penalties for selling illegal drugs

Source: 2000 Congressional National Political Awareness Test , Nov 1, 2000

Neutral on “Drug use is immoral: enforce laws against it”

Source: 2000 National Political Awareness Test , Sep 20, 2000

Other governors on Drugs: Jon Corzine on other issues:
NJ Gubernatorial:
Chris Christie
NJ Senatorial:
Frank Lautenberg
Robert Menendez

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (D)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Search for...

Page last updated: Nov 23, 2011