Ronnie Musgrove on Free Trade

2008 Senate challenger; previously Democratic MS Governor

Can’t negotiate trade deals while $30B in debt to China

In Washington, they tell us the economy is strong. Whose economy are they talking about? We’re borrowing $30 billion a month from China, India, Japan, and Saudi Arabia. The US used to do that for third world countries that we were trying to help.

And now that we’re deep in debt to the Chinese, when we try to negotiate better trade deals to keep more of our jobs, China’s response is predictable--“Now how much do you owe us?”

Our country has nothing left to bargain with. They’ve mortgaged our economy and our soul. So what does Washington do? They raise the limit on the national debt so they can borrow more money. It’s like doing your banking at a fly-by-night check cashing operation. Need more money? Go deeper in debt.

Ladies and gentlemen, it’s time for that to end.

Source: Candidacy Announcement Speech , Jan 7, 2008

NAFTA & CAFTA are worst trade agreements in modern history

Roger Wicker supported NAFTA and CAFTA--two of the worst trade agreements in modern history. He was also the deciding vote in favor of Fast Track, the law that doesn’t require trading partners to meet the same tough environmental and labor standards we have to meet here in the United States. His one vote swung the balance.

Roger Wicker will vote for a museum that celebrates prisoners, but he won’t vote for a level playing field for Mississippi workers. Mr. Wicker is wrong.

Source: Candidacy Announcement Speech , Jan 7, 2008

Enforce trade law against subsidized Canadian lumber imports.

Musgrove signed the Southern Governors' Association resolution:

Source: Resolution of Southern Governor's Assn. on Lumber Subsidies 01-SGA3 on Sep 9, 2001

Other governors on Free Trade: Ronnie Musgrove on other issues:
MS Gubernatorial:
Haley Barbour
Phil Bryant
MS Senatorial:
Roger Wicker
Thad Cochran

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (D)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Search for...

Page last updated: Nov 28, 2011